Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz (Interscope Records)


The first sounds you’ll hear on It’s Blitz are a pulsing electronic bass and programmed drums – an odd opening statement for a band made up of a singer, guitarist and drummer. The song that follows is a 180-degree change in direction for the Brooklyn trio – a dance number that, at least musically, sounds closer to Britney Spears than the arty post-punk the Yeah Yeah Yeahs started their career with. It’s a shocking change, but it’s palatable because the song, “Zero”, is excellent. The remaining nine songs are similarly devoid of the angular drums and guitar stomp that you expect from the band. Those rough edges are replaced with synths and programmed drums, leaving one to ponder just how much drummer Brian Chase and guitarist/Edward Scissorhands action-figure Nick Zinner had to do with the album. Taking it a step further, you may wonder whether or not it’s a first step towards a Gwen/Madonna type of solo career from Karen O. Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t as vapid as most commercial pop-music (although I could do without lyrics like “get on the floor”, “shake it like a _____ “, and the word “clubbin”) but Ladytron already fill whatever need there is for an artistically satisfying synth-pop group. What it comes down to is that the Yeah Yeah Yeahs are a great rock group and even if each song on It’s Blitz is individually enjoyable, as a whole the band’s “rock side” is sorely missing.



1 Zero 04:25
2 Heads Will Roll 03:41
3 Soft Shock 03:53
4 Skeletons 05:02
5 Dull Life 04:08
6 Shame And Fortune 03:31
7 Runaway 05:13
8 Dragon Queen 04:02
9 Hysteric 03:50
10 Little Shadow 03:57