X (Australia) – X-Aspirations (Aztec Music)

Australian trio X (not the LA band) aren’t very well known outside of their homeland, but this album warrants a reevaluation. Recorded in one five-hour session in 1979, X-Aspirations recalls Gang Of Four’s monumental Entertainment! – it’s got the same dry production (courtesy of Aussie rocker Lobby Loyde) and lead singer Steve Lucas’ guitar has the same powerful tone Andy Gill was simultaneously crafting over in England. However, unlike Gang Of Four, X hadn’t retained some of the punk nihilism of two years earlier (titles like “Police,” “Revolution,” and “I Don’t Wanna Go Out” are indicative of their anti-everything attitude). Also, the band had a meaty rhythm-section that sounded equal parts hard rock and punk (bassist Ian Rilen was a founding member of Aussie hard rock institution Rose Tattoo). Some songs even have traces of AC/DC-styled raunch’n’roll. The original fourteen-track album is appended by three bonus tracks from 1984, by which time X had lost their edge. Discounting the bonus numbers, X-Aspirations is an essential pick-up.




  • “Suck Suck”
  • “Present”
  • “Simulated Lovers”
  • “Police”
  • “Revolution”
  • “Turn My Head”
  • “Good on Ya Baby”
  • “Delinquent Cause”
  • “I Don’t Wanna Go Out”
  • “Dipstick”
  • “It Must Be Me”
  • “Coat of Green”
  • “Waiting”
  • “Batman”
  • “Mother” (single A-side) *
  • “Halfway ‘Round the World” (single B-side) *
  • “Mother” (previously unreleased version) *