The Dirtbombs – Party Store (In The Red Records)

The Dirtbombs are no strangers to cover songs, having done an entire album of souped-up soul-nuggets (2001’s Ultraglide In Black), and sprinkling assorted cover versions throughout other releases. Party Store adds nine covers of Detroit techno songs from the ’80s and ’90s to their repertoire. Techno covers from a band best known for high-octane garage rock sounds like a terrible idea, but they’ve hit paydirt before covering artists ranging from Stevie Wonder to Flipper so there was hope that if anyone could successfully bring these songs into a rock and roll context it was The Dirtbombs. Unfortunately that optimism doesn’t pay off and Party Store is just as dodgy as its concept. You can credit Mick Collins’ gang for transposing the drum beats and synthesizers from the originals into a rock setting, but the results are neither good rock nor good electronica. There isn’t a single song here you’ll want to revisit, but the largest turd in the pile has to be “Bug In The Bassbin” (originally by Carl Craig as Innerzone Orchestra), a meandering twenty-one minute instrumental that The Dirtbombs themselves would probably have a hard time sitting through. It’s hard to imagine there being a more wretched album in 2011.


  1. Cosmic Cars
  2. Sharivari
  3. Good Life (Basement Roots Mix)
  4. Strings Of Life
  5. Alleys Of Your Mind
  6. Bug In The Bass Bin
  7. Jaguar
  8. Tear The Club Up
  9. ? ????-??? (Detoroito Mix)