Reatards – Teenage Hate (Goner Records)

This is a reissue of Jay Reatard’s first band’s debut, originally released in 1998. The band/album name combination of “Reatards” and “Teenage Hate” speaks volumes about this Memphis garage-punk trio: It’s a bunch of miscreant teenagers bashing out misanthropic and rudimentary punk rock, recorded “in the red”. The lyrics are simple statements of youthful nihilism, with song titles like “I’m So Gone” and “You Fucked Up My Dreams”. They cover songs by scum-rock forefathers Fear and The Dead Boys, as well as an unexpected run through Buddy Holly’s “Ollie Vee”. The original eighteen-track album is augmented with twenty-one bonus tracks taken from ultra lo-fi cassette releases and given the charming name “Fuck Elvis Here’s The Reatards”. If you expect Teenage Hate to sound like Jay Reatard’s tamer (but by no means tame) work for Matador Records, you’re in for a surprise. It’s rawer and more unrefined than anything from his later years. However, if you come to it as a fan of reckless garage-punk bands from labels like Goner or Crypt, you’ll probably dig it.

1 I’m So Gone
2 Stacye
3 I Love Living
4 When I Get Mad
5 C’Mon Over
6 Out Of My Head Into My Bed
7 You Fucked Up My Dreams
8 It Ain’t Me
9 Down In Flames
10 I Gotta Rock N Roll
11 Memphis Blues
12 Quite All Right
13 Fashion Victim
14 Old News Baby
15 Not Good Enough For You
16 Ollie Vee
17 Not Your Man
18 I Can Live Without You
                    The Reatards Cassette
19 Black September
20 Chuck Taylors All Stars Blues
21 I Lie To
22 Memphis Blues
23 On The Go
24 Give It To Me
25 Carot Belly Bunny Blues
26 You Build Me Up Just To Bust Me Back Down
27 Your The One
28 When I Get Mad
29 Get The Fuck Out Of My House
                    Fuck Elvis Here’s The Reatards Cassette
30 You Build Me Up Just To Bust Me Back Down
31 You Ain’t No Fun No Mo
32 I Lie Too
33 Give It To Me
34 C’Mon Over
35 Not Your Man
36 Your Old News Baby
37 Crazy Man
38 Action Woman
39 I’m Down