Ween – Shinola Vol. 1 (Chocodog Records)

Ween are best known for the jokey “Push Th’ Little Daisies”, one of the weirdest songs to become a hit during the ‘90s alternative boom. They’ve been releasing wacky records ever since, including this – the first in a planned series of rarities collections. As expected from a band who thought “Push Th’ Little Daisies” was “single-worthy”, the stuff they left off their albums is pretty strange. The maddening thing about Ween is that once you get past their stupid Zappa-esque material (like “Boy’s Club” and “Big Fat Fuck”) there’s a few good songs like “I Fell In Love Today” and “Gabrielle”, which is a dead-ringer for Elvis Costello. If the brothers Ween (Gene and Dean) could grow up and write an entire album of songs like these, it would be pretty cool…I guess it also wouldn’t be Ween.

1. “Tastes Good on th’ Bun” 3:26
2. “Boys Club” 3:06
3. “I Fell in Love Today” 4:09
4. “Big Fat Fuck” 2:55
5. “Gabrielle” 3:29
6. “Did You See Me?” 5:11
7. “How High Can You Fly?” 2:39
8. “Transitions” 3:45
9. “Israel” 3:40
10. “The Rift” 5:41
11. “Monique the Freak” 5:48
12. “Someday” 3:45

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s