X (Australia) – X-Aspirations (Aztec Music)

Australian trio X (not the LA band) are barely known outside of their homeland, but this album warrants a reevaluation. Recorded in one five-hour session in 1979, X-Aspirations recalls Gang Of Four’s monumental Entertainment! – it’s got the same dry production (courtesy of Aussie rocker Lobby Loyde) and lead singer Steve Lucas’ guitar has the same powerful tone Andy Gill was simultaneously crafting over in England. However, unlike Gang Of Four, X hadn’t completely evolved past the punk nihilism of two years earlier (titles like “Police”, “Revolution” and “I Don’t Wanna Go Out” are indicative of their anti-everything attitude). Also, the band had a meaty rhythm-section that sounded equally at home in a hard rock context as a punk one (not completely surprising given that bassist Ian Rilen was a founding member of Aussie hard rock institution Rose Tattoo). Some songs even have traces of AC/DC-styled raunch’n’roll. The original fourteen-track album is appended by three bonus tracks from 1984, by which time X lost their edge and embraced bad 1980s production style. Discounting the bonus numbers, X-Aspirations is an essential pick-up.




  • “Suck Suck”
  • “Present”
  • “Simulated Lovers”
  • “Police”
  • “Revolution”
  • “Turn My Head”
  • “Good on Ya Baby”
  • “Delinquent Cause”
  • “I Don’t Wanna Go Out”
  • “Dipstick”
  • “It Must Be Me”
  • “Coat of Green”
  • “Waiting”
  • “Batman”
  • “Mother” (single A-side) *
  • “Halfway ‘Round the World” (single B-side) *
  • “Mother” (previously unreleased version) *

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s